Eight states and nine self-driving developers and carmakers announced this week that they would participate in a nationwide testing program designed to showcase the autonomous cars’ development and make public the routes and information gathered during testing.

Federal authorities with the NHTSA and Department of Transportation announced the agreement Monday.

“Through this initiative, the department is creating a formal platform for federal, state, and local government to coordinate and share information in a standard way,” U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao said in a statement.

California, Florida, Maryland, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Utah were the first eight states announced as testbeds for the AVs. Many of those states already offered limited testing on public roads. Notably absent is Arizona, where Uber tested its self-driving car technology…

Continue Reading to the Source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here